OSOR Awards 2023 call for submissions is now open

31 July 2023

Author: Axel Thévenet

The European Commission’s Open Source Observatory (OSOR) has issued a call for submissions for the EU Public Sector Open Source Achievement Awards. The contest aims to recognize exceptional open source initiatives and solutions developed for public services across Europe.

Open to public administrations, educational institutions, hospitals, and third-sector organizations, the OSOR Awards highlight projects successfully implementing open source solutions or advancing OSS usage within public services.

The OSOR Awards will honour the best open source projects in two distinct categories:

  1. EU Public Sector Open Source Achievement Award: Winners in this category will be determined by a jury, which will evaluate submissions based on specific selection criteria. This award aims to recognize projects that have had a significant impact on their communities and have effectively utilized public resources to create innovative solutions.

  2. OSOR Community Award: The recipient of this award will be selected through a public vote on the Joinup platform. Open to all OSOR users and members of the public, this online voting process will be open from 29 September to 26 October. The award seeks to highlight projects that have garnered widespread support and appreciation from the open-source community.

Finalists for the Achievement Award and the winner of the Community Award will be invited to present their work at the OSOR 15-year anniversary conference, scheduled to take place in Brussels on 21 November 2023. The event will bring together stakeholders from EU Member States’ public administrations, European Institutions, and various open-source communities, associations, and businesses.

Submissions are open until 21 September 2023. Winners will be announced at the OSOR 15-year anniversary conference on 21 November 2023 in Brussels. The awards offer recognition, publicity, and networking opportunities for outstanding projects.

For more information and to submit, visit the official Awards page