✨ OFE is hiring! Join the OFE team as a Policy Advisor. More information in our news section.


Loading Events

Public Sector Digital Transformation – From the Tallinn Declaration to a borderless government

11 October 2017


October 11, 2017
12:00 UTC+0

Registrations here


On 6 October, EU ministers meet in Tallinn to formally adopt an eGovernment Declaration. This ministerial declaration aims to enable the transition towards a borderless government, and to practically support the public sector to fully grasp the benefits of the Digital Age.

The vision of a public sector which can excel at the implementation of the ‘once-only’ principle, which facilitates the reuse of data and the open collaboration of various departments nationally and across borders, is the recognised shared objective of the policy makers and reflects the expectations of the EU citizens. This is also part of the current legislative negotiations for the proposed Directive on introducing a European Services e-card and related administrative facilities.

Showing this strong commitment is a signal that the public sector is willing to adapt to the technology change and face the challenges that such a transition would entail. Achieving such a vision is complex. Implementing this transition will pass through several preparation phases, exchange of best practices and public administrations working together towards these identified common goals.

What does a borderless government mean in practice and which are the future trends? What are the next steps following the adoption of the Tallinn eGovernment Declaration? How can Open Source speed up the digital transformation? And what are the benefits of an open Public Sector Digital Transformation for the citizens? These are some of the questions which will be addressed by our speakers and participants.


  • Ms Kaja Kallas, Member of the European Parliament, ALDE, Estonia
  • Ms Jaana Sahk-Labi, Counsellor for Information Society, Permanent Representation of Estonia to the EU
  • Mr Pierre Damas, DG DIGIT, European Commission


  • Mr James Lovegrove, OFE’s Chair for the Task Force on Open Government and Red Hat’s EMEA Public Affairs Director

The discussion following the introductory presentations will be moderated and will be held under the Chatham House Rule.

A light lunch will be served at 12h00 and the presentations will start at 12h30.

Registrations are open until 9 October 2017 COB.